Governance of the Academy

The Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre is an organisation made up of academic, support and administrative units whose functions, rights and obligations are regulated by the EAMT Statutes and other documents. The structure of EAMT is approved by the EAMT Council.

EAMT is managed by the Council, the Senate, the Rector, and the Rector`s Office, consisting of the Rector, two Vice Rectors and the Managing Director. Discussions in four permanent committees precede the final decisions made by the EAMT Council and EAMT Senate.

The principal units of EAMT`s academic structure are four departments (generally called academic departments) and Centre for Doctoral Studies.

EAMT`s administrative structure is made up of accounting, maintenance and technical services, instrument repair service, piano repairs and tuning service, musical instrument collection, as well as IT service.

The EAMT`s support structure includes the Registry and Student Affairs Department, International and Public Relations Department, Library, Concert and Performance Centre and Continuing Education Centre. EAMT has also a representative office in Tartu that coordinates EAMT activities in the southern part of Estonia.

At least 5 members of the Senate and at least 20% of members of the Study Committee come from the Student Union. There is a students' delegate in the Council. Students are involved in making all decisions in these bodies. The Student Union has its own Statute regulating the election of their representatives. The Rector’s Office and Student Union meet once a semester to discuss relevant student and study related topics at EAMT.