Governance of the Academy

The structure of the Academy is divided into the academic structure and the administrative and support structure. Academic departments conduct studies and engage in creative work, research and development. Administrative and support departments ensure the functioning of the Academy and offer the support services necessary for educational, creative, research and development activities. The Academy is a legal person in public law which operates under the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre Act, the Higher Education Act, its Statutes and other legislation. In addition to the legislative framework, the key goals and courses of action are set in the development plan and annual action plans.

The Academy shall be managed by the Council, Senate and the Rector.

The Council is the management body of the Academy which shall be responsible for the long-term and sustainable development of the Academy as well as for making important economic, financial and assets-related decisions, ensuring the achievement of the objectives of the Academy. The Council shall be formed in accordance with the procedure provided by the Academy Act. The Council shall be composed of seven members, three of whom shall be appointed by the Senate of the Academy. The advisory body of the Council is the Audit Committee.

The Senate is the academic decision-making body of the Academy, which shall be responsible for the research, development, creative and educational activities of the Academy and ensure the high quality thereof. The Senate shall have up to 25 members, including the Rector, who acts as the head of the Senate; other members of the Rector’s Office; head of the Registry and Student Affairs Department; head of the Doctoral Council; vice-head of the Doctoral Council; heads of the academic departments; representatives of the academic staff; representatives of the students. The advisory bodies of the Senate are the Study Committee and the Research Committee.

The Rector is the legal representative of the Academy who directs the Academy based on the Statutes, development plan, budget and other strategic documents of the Academy.

The Rector’s Office is the executive body of the Academy. The Rector’s Office includes the Rector, Vice Rectors and the Administrative and Financial Director.

The representative body of the students is the student council, in the election of which every student has the right to vote. The role of the student council is to protect the interests and rights of the student body, to represent students both in and outside the university, to inform students about its activities and other tasks in line with the goals of the student body. The bases for the activities of the student body are provided in the statutes of the student body.


Management of Academic Units

An academic department shall have a decision-making body and a head that shall be elected or appointed for a fixed term pursuant to the procedure established by the Senate. The exact title and competence of the decision-making body and the head of the department shall be established by the Senate. Academic units are managed in accordance with the statutes of the structural units.