DIY Systems for Spatial Audio. Alejandro Montes de Oca

24.05.2024 – 25.05.2024
at 15:00

ALEJANDRO MONTES DE OCA (Helsinki University of the Arts Sibelius Academy, Finland)
24-25 May @15.00-18.00 in D-501

The workshop titled “DIY Systems for Spatial Audio” will delve into the development, operation, challenges, and opportunities inherent in working with DIY systems for spatial audio. The session comprises a one-hour presentation showcasing various projects involving such systems, followed by a four-hour hands-on workshop where participants will have the opportunity to experiment with and try out DIY systems, with the ultimate goal of collaboratively developing a multichannel setup. Additionally, there will be a one-hour final presentation session for participants to share and learn from each other’s ideas and approaches. As the group size is restricted to 8 students, we kindly request all interested individuals to register here.

Alejandro Montes de Oca is an electroacoustic music composer and performer, and a sound artist based in Helsinki. Inspired by the physical materiality of sound, our contemporary soundscape and different time perceptions, he focuses on organizing sounds in space and time with the use of what he calls “case-specific electroacoustic systems”. He holds a doctorate in music and works as teacher of electroacoustic music and sound art at the University of the Arts Helsinki. His music has been awarded at the 10th Electroacoustic Composition Competition Musica Viva (Portugal), the Franz Liszt Stipendium 2011 (Germany), the EAH Water Soundscape Composition Contest (Finland) and the 10th Luc Ferrari Composition Competition (France). Some of his pieces have been released on various CD and DVD compilations, and presented in different festivals and concerts in Europe and America. His work has been supported by institutions such as Kone Fundation (Finland), FONCA (Mexico), CONACYT (Mexico), CKultura (Denmark), IMEB (France), CDMC (Spain), ICST (Switzerland), “Turku 2011, European Capital of Culture” (Finland), the UNESCO-Aschberg and STIM (Sweden).