To celebrate 100 years of official diplomatic relations between Denmark and Estonia, a multinational string quartet has been formed with remarkable musicians from Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania.

The concert will take place at the Great Hall of the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre (Tatari 13, Tallinn) on August 24 at 19:00.

The quartet will consist of the highly remarkable and versatile Danish violinist Christina Åstrand playing the first violin who will be joined by Estonian violinist Mari-Katrina Suss, Lithuanian violist Sandra Klimaitė and Latvian cellist Elīza Sestule.

The musicians will play pieces by: M. K. Čiurlionis, String Quartet in C Minor (1903), Carl Nielsen, String Quartet in G Minor (1888), Peteris Vasks, String Quartet No. 2 (1984), Arvo Pärt, Fratres (1977/1989).

The string quartet consists of:

Christina Åstrand, who is in all respects a highly remarkable and versatile violinist, whether as a soloist, a chamber musician or as concertmaster of the DR Symphony Orchestra. Christina has received several prizes and honors. In 2019, she was a nominee for The Nordic Council Music Prize.

Mari-Katrina Suss received both her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre and has been continuing her studies at the doctoral level. She has worked with various Estonian orchestras (Pärnu City Orchestra, Tallinn Chamber Orchestra, Nordic Symphony Orchestra) and performed both as a soloist and as a chamber musician in Estonia and abroad. She joined the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra in 2005 and has been a member of Prezioso String Quartet since 2006.

Sandra Klimaitė was born in Vilnius, Lithuania and started learning violin and viola at the Konstantinas Čiurlionis School of Arts. In 2012 Sandra commenced her bachelor studies at Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre and received her master’s dergee in 2019. She has participated in masterclasses of Jonas Urba, Jone Kaliunaite, Mikhail Zemtsov, Sergey Ostrovsky, Alexandr Bonduryanski, Michael Gaisler, Peijun Xu, Vincent Royer and Marcin Murawski. Sandra Klimaitė has actively participated in chamber music ensembles and orchestra projects. She is a member of Junges Musikpodium Dresden- Venice, Animato Stiftung, Gothenburg Academy of Music and Theatre Symphony Orchestra, Faroe Island Musical Meetings, Estonian Sinfonietta, Nordic Symphony Orchestra. Since 2016 she has been a permanent member of the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra viola section.

Elīza Sestule has a bachelor’s degree from Jāzeps Vītols Academy of Music and is currently studying on her master’s degree there. She has participated and won several competitions and has played in many symphony orchestras. 


Please fill in the registration form by August 23 at the latest so we can add you to the list and enjoy this celebration together!

Please also note that you should be able to present a valid COVID-19 certificate, or a negative COVID-19 test together with an identity document.

The concert is organized by The Danish Cultural Institute in Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.